Sunday, 5 February 2017

January's Bookshelf

One of the (many!) blogs I follow is Lucky to be in First and last week she wrote a post talking about what she has read in January. I thought I would 'magpie' this idea as I'm an avid reader, both with my class and personally and share some of the books I've been reading in the month of January (and I'm going to be super strict and not include what I've already finished in February!) So though not strictly a 'teaching' post, here are some of my recommended reads from January (maybe you can enjoy them on half-term!)


(I should mention here that I have no affiliate links to Amazon!)

'A Man Called Ove' by Fredrik Blackman
I read this for my book club and really enjoyed it! Very similar style of writing to The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared, I was in tears by the ending. It took a while to get into as frankly all that happened was Ove complaining about everything, but after a couple of chapters I was hooked.

'The Stranger in my Home' by Adele Parks
Reminded me of Gone Girl or Girl on a Train with the twist and suspense. Not as scary as I first thought, but an interesting read and thought provoking situation. 


'Six of Crows' and 'Crooked Kingdom' by Leigh Bardugo
These books are for fans of George RR Martin or Sarah J Maas. Epic fantasy series (there is a another trilogy set in the same world). Each chapter is told from the viewpoint of one of the six main characters whilst still following a main storyline. 


'Feversong' by Karen Marie Morning
Another fantasy book, and the conclusion of the Fever series. I have been hooked by MacKayla and Barrons' adventures since Darkfever and have had this on my wishlist for months. I have ended up with more questions than answers though with the ending, so hopefully the spin off series might resolve some of those!

I've had plenty of time to read this month as I've just had my half-term break (tomorrow is the beginning of a long stretch until Easter break!) and I should return to school rested and rejuvenated! And maybe even inspired to blog some more! Why not head over to Lucky to be in First and see her January bookshelf for more ideas?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...