Saturday, 11 February 2017

Five for February

So for the first time this year, I am joining in a link up! And I'm picking Doodle Bugs' Five for Friday.
1
I started the term with a couple of weeks on Space and the result of a Maths craftivity making rockets out of 2D shapes and some experimentation with marbling inks and their effects to make planets, was this display.
2
As part of learning about Chinese New Year, we read the story 'The Great Race' and made a small world version for the children to use to retell the story. Though if I'm honest they most just took the rat around the classroom...

3
In the Messy Play area, we had cooked noodles and various tongs and chopsticks to experiment with. Only one child tried to eat it so I consider it a success!
4
This idea was part of the parent activity afternoon we had, where the parent reps from all the classes organised games and crafts for the children to do. Unfortunately I forgot to take photos of the finished firework pictures.
5
The excitement of this term is the introduction of some letters to begin learning to write our names. Look at this beautiful curly caterpillar! 

Monday, 6 February 2017

#TPTBEMINE



I sometimes forget I have a TPT store, but I have actually read about the TPT Be Mine Sale tomorrow and Wednesday in time to ready my store and let you all know! What a great time to stock up on some special treats for yourself or your class! Who needs a real Valentine when you can buy yourself a Valentine's treat?! 

Everything in mine and many others' shops will be 20% off and then use the code LOVETPT to get an extra discount! 

Sunday, 5 February 2017

January's Bookshelf

One of the (many!) blogs I follow is Lucky to be in First and last week she wrote a post talking about what she has read in January. I thought I would 'magpie' this idea as I'm an avid reader, both with my class and personally and share some of the books I've been reading in the month of January (and I'm going to be super strict and not include what I've already finished in February!) So though not strictly a 'teaching' post, here are some of my recommended reads from January (maybe you can enjoy them on half-term!)


(I should mention here that I have no affiliate links to Amazon!)

'A Man Called Ove' by Fredrik Blackman
I read this for my book club and really enjoyed it! Very similar style of writing to The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared, I was in tears by the ending. It took a while to get into as frankly all that happened was Ove complaining about everything, but after a couple of chapters I was hooked.

'The Stranger in my Home' by Adele Parks
Reminded me of Gone Girl or Girl on a Train with the twist and suspense. Not as scary as I first thought, but an interesting read and thought provoking situation. 


'Six of Crows' and 'Crooked Kingdom' by Leigh Bardugo
These books are for fans of George RR Martin or Sarah J Maas. Epic fantasy series (there is a another trilogy set in the same world). Each chapter is told from the viewpoint of one of the six main characters whilst still following a main storyline. 


'Feversong' by Karen Marie Morning
Another fantasy book, and the conclusion of the Fever series. I have been hooked by MacKayla and Barrons' adventures since Darkfever and have had this on my wishlist for months. I have ended up with more questions than answers though with the ending, so hopefully the spin off series might resolve some of those!

I've had plenty of time to read this month as I've just had my half-term break (tomorrow is the beginning of a long stretch until Easter break!) and I should return to school rested and rejuvenated! And maybe even inspired to blog some more! Why not head over to Lucky to be in First and see her January bookshelf for more ideas?
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...